There are several thoughts that go through the mind of soon-to-be college graduates. As a soon-to-be myself, I feel that I can say that with confidence. Of course all situations are different. We do not all have the same concerns, dreams, and fears. Nevertheless is you are, like myself, a soon-to-be, I’m sure you can relate to one or more of the following.

Will I be able to find a job when all employers wish me to magically have 3 to 5 years of experience to perform entry level tasks?

Am I going to need to continue working my retail/restaurant/childcare job in order to scrape up my monthly loan payments?

How will I be able to afford a car before I’m 27 if I don’t get a better job?

Will I be able to move out of home?

Was all of this really worth it?

I know I’ve had all of these thoughts, and I still do, although to be honest I’m a bit more anxious about my final semester itself at the moment.

However, Something that God keeps reminding me of since I was 17 years old through various people feeling the need to send me certain passages of scripture repeatedly, that He has a plan for my life. Not simply a, sure, it’ll be alright, type of plan, but an amazing, masterfully crafted plan. It will take some time to get there, but if I continue to seek after Him, and to give Him all of the above questions, along with all of my anxieties about this last semester, He will allow me to find out what that one-of-a-kind, masterpiece of a plan is. He simply asks us to let Him take care of the details as we do all that we can where we are now.

There is another big thing. Times are hard, and uncertain futures are scary, but don’t miss what you do know, the NOW, because of the future, what you don’t know. Its not worth it. Love life, even when it is hard, because when you look up, the sky is still there and the sun and moon still shining. When you look around there are still people who love and need to be loved by you, and when you look down, there is still an incredible earth that God designed for to keep you alive, well, and happy. Life is bigger than your problems, so don’t forget to love everything outside of them.

Lastly, even if you cannot be happy, never let go of your joy, for the joy of the Lord will be your strength.

This is what the Lord says: “When seventy years are completed for Babylon, I will come to you and fulfill my good promise to bring you back to this place. For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you,” declares the Lord, “and will bring you back from captivity.[a] I will gather you from all the nations and places where I have banished you,” declares the Lord, “and will bring you back to the place from which I carried you into exile.” – Jeremiah 29:10-14

