Tags

, ,

At the end of every year of college, I spend 1 week with my best friend Lexie. I spend the week at her house in the Delaware Water Gap where we hike, take care of her livestock, cook, watch TV and do really whatever we can think of. She graduated back in May, and I only just graduated in December, so we decided I would come for a week again in December to celebrate me being done. This was the first New Years we’ve spent together, and it was one of the best I’ve ever had. We spent it together; just the two of us, with only one real plan. We both made lists of things from the year that we were letting go of, so that at midnight we could drop them into the river and watch them go away forever. Beyond that we had no idea what we were doing. We merely got in the car and left around 9. We ended up having a mini adventure that brought us to a convenience store, a diner, a gas station, her house, around all the windy roads in the gap here, and finally to the bridge from which we dropped our past into the river.
I am so thankful that God gives us these chances for a clean start. To get up and try again. Thank God for 2015, and thank God for 2014 as well. I’ve learned so much, and let go of so much. I am now a freer person.

