Tags

, ,

Hey All.

Lately I’ve been trying to share with you something every week that has helped me in my road to recovery from Depression, or self loathing, or just not living life to the fullest as God wants us to. Praise God He wants us to have full, wonderful lives no matter where we are! But today I’m going to take a slightly different look at it. Is that cool with you?
Lately I’ve had a lot of “bad days.” Not days where bad things happened necessarily, but just days where the monster caught me off guard and dragged me down into a rut of depression. I’m sure you know those days as well. Let me just encourage you for a moment that it is okay. If you can have grace for anyone else in need but struggle with not having grace for yourself like I do, I repeat, It is COMPLETELY okay to have bad days. They aren’t your fault and they don’t make you a bad or worthless person as your brain is telling you they do. God loves you, and He wants to do amazing things in and through you. You are NOT worthless.
Let the people around you know the truth. That you are depressed and need a little time to regroup. Put on some soothing music, drink some tea, pray. Remind yourself of everything that is true when your mind is telling you lies, and praise God through it. I know that is far harder to do than to say. Believe me, I know quite well, but this is how we overcome. God’s grace is stronger than all of our problems.
Don’t take this as permission to make excuses for your behavior. It is still our responsibility to control our words and actions, but know mistakes happen, and frustrations do rise; it’s normal. Finding your center in Christ will make it easier to climb our of your hole, and feel the light again.

If you have any “bad days” this week, first, know you aren’t alone, second, tell the people around you, take it easy and have bestow some grace on yourself, and talk it out with God. He loves you and wants to heal you.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. – 2 Corinthians 12:9

