Tags

, ,

Disclaimer: For some reason I was on a lyrics kick while writing this post.
“The Lord has promised good to me, His word my hope secures. He will my shield and portion be, as long as life endures.”  Such beautiful words penned by John Newton that remind us in our difficult times of confusion and chaos that God is with us and will give us our daily portion of grace to get through.   Its often hard not to question why He is allowing us to go through what we do, but in His promises to stay with us and that His grace will keep us through it all stand firm.
Last year while on a trip to Northern Ireland I received a word from God during a Sunday night service. It will change the way I pray forever. It came through a woman I had only met that day. It was as follows:  Pray without ceasing, because I am listening without ceasing, and I pray for you without ceasing because I love you without ceasing.
Of course we are all told that God hears our prayers, but having Him tell me He was listening, even waiting to listen changed everything for me and I hope it will encourage you as you battle through your own times of trial.
Sometimes He is simply waiting for us to rediscover that we can, and must, rely on Him fully as our shield and portion to get through. Once we do we find that, His grace abounds, and name brings us peace. Even when things are hard, He is seeing us through.
Yea, when this flesh and heart shall fail,
and mortal life shall cease,
I shall possess within the veil,
a life of joy and peace.    – John Newton
